Scholarly Leader:
The Leslie D. Tincknell
2022 President’s Scholarship


The President’s Scholarship was established to salute outstanding leadership in future architects, acknowledge outstanding community and political leadership in future architects, and to provide recognition of past AIA Michigan Presidents. Each year, we honor the Founders of this scholarship. In 2022, we are honoring Leslie D. Tincknell, FAIA, 1974 President of AIA Michigan.

Throughout his career, Les’ devotion and stewardship has helped the Michigan Architectural Foundation to grow substantially. He has served on the Michigan Architectural Foundation board for more than 25 years, serving as both President, Treasurer and on multiple committees. Under his financial leadership, MAF’s endowment has more than quadrupled. In his honor, MAF established the Tincknell Fund, originally slated solely for college scholarships.

With their desire to expand the fund’s reach to support MAF’s architecture awareness programs, Les and his wife Marion have made  substantial contributions to the fund. MAF also established the Leslie D. Tincknell Scholarship. Les has served the architectural profession for more than sixty years, and although he retired more than 25 years ago from Wigen Tincknell Meyer (now WTA Architects), he continues to provide professional services to local non-profit organizations on a pro-bono basis.

Leslie D. Tincknell is the epitome of the citizen architect.  He has mentored multiple generations of interns and young architects.  Les is an exemplary role model for both students and professionals.

Graduate architecture students enrolled in college or university architecture programs in the state of Michigan, and who reside in the state of Michigan, are eligible to apply for the scholarship. Applications for the scholarship will be accepted beginning in January 2022. Eligible students are encouraged to visit the MAF website in advance to review the application criteria.


About the AIA Michigan President’s Scholarship

Founded                                       1992

Endowment balance                  $220,000

Amount awarded annually       $6,000

Total  since founding                 $93,000

Number of recipients                28