Now Boarding!
MAF Announces New 2023 Board Members


The Michigan Architectural Foundation (MAF) is pleased to announce it has named three new individuals to its Board of Trustees, effective January 2023. Each will serve a two-year term.

MAF’s new board members are:

Alan Cobb, FAIA, LEED AP.  Alan is CEO and Chairman of Albert Kahn Associates. He is a returning MAF board member. His 45-year architecture career includes dedication to educational and community leadership. Alan also is a member of MAF’s Architecture Awareness Grants Committee, and MAF’s new Sustainability Task Force.

Kimberly (Nelson) Montague, AIA, EDAC, LEED AP, NCARB. Kimberly is Executive Director of Research and Insights at Kimball International, where she is responsible for developing and leading strategies for research initiatives and partnerships across all markets.  She will also serve on MAF’s Auction and Development committees.

Park Smith, AIA. A returning MAF board member, Park serves on MAF’s Finance and Historic Preservation Committees and is Chair of MAF’s Evans-Graham Historic Preservation Grant Committee.  In addition, Park is a past president of MAF and is the 2021 recipient of MAF’s Leadership Award.

“The Michigan Architectural Foundation is pleased to welcome Alan, Kim, and Park to the MAF board,” said Doug Kueffner, AIA, MAF 2022/2023 President. “Each of them is passionate about Michigan architecture, and will be a tremendous asset to MAF in our mission to advance awareness of architecture, and to the growth of our programs and our endowment.”

MAF also re-elected a number of Trustees to serve another two-year term on the MAF board.  Those re-elected are Katherine Banicki, FESD, Hon Aff. AIAMI; Bryan Cook, AIA; Bob Daverman, AIA; Damian Farrell, FAIA; Jamie Piercy; and Todd Drouillard, AIA.

MAF also wants to thank its outgoing board members for their service: Lisa Demankowski, AIA; Kevin Flattery; and Mike Neville, FAIA.  Lisa will continue to serve on MAF’s Communications and Architecture Awareness Grants Committees. Kevin will continue to serve on MAF’s Finance Committee.