Announcing the 2024
AIA Michigan President’s Scholarship
honoring James Shane, AIA


The AIA MIchigan President’s Scholarship was started to salute outstanding leadership in future architects; acknowledge outstanding community and political leadership in future architects; and to provide recognition of past AIA Michigan Presidents. Each year, we honor the Founders of this scholarship. In 2024, we are honoring James Shane AIA, 1987 President of AIA Michigan.

Known for his dedication to architectural education and effusive leadership style, Jim Shane was a rare combination of educator and practitioner. He received degrees from both University of Notre Dame and the University of Michigan. He was the department head for the Ferris State College of Engineering Technology.

His service to the profession spanned decades and he became AIA Michigan President in 1986.  In 1994, he won the AIA Michigan Gold Medal. Jim passed away in June of 2021 at the age of 89.  Both Jim’s colleagues and students loved his compassion and cherished their relationship with him. He was truly a role model for young architects.

Learn more about the past MAF President’s Scholarship recipients (and all MAF scholarship recipients)


AIA Michigan President’s Scholarship

Founded 1992

Amount Given Annually: $8,000

Total Amount Given: $109,000

Number of Recipients to date: 30


AIA Michigan President’s Scholarship Founders

Evie Asken, FAIA                  Gene DiLaura, FAIA           Paul Bowers, FAIA              Robert Greager, FAIA

Norm Hamman Sr., AIA      Roger Margerum, FAIA     Mike Marshburn, AIA         James Morrison,  AIA

Art Nelson, AIA                    Jay Pettit, FAIA                  Carl Roehling, FAIA           James Shane,  AIA

Dick Slocum, AIA                Bruce Smith, FAIA              Les Tincknell,  FAIA             Frederick Wigen, AIA

Robert Wold, FAIA