A Toast to Our Future:
AIA Grand Rapids
Inaugural Scholarship Fundraiser
is a Huge Success!


MAF and AIA Grand Rapids are pleased to announce that their inaugural, ‘Imagine Tomorrow – a Toast to Our Future’ scholarship fundraiser, which took place Oct. 20, 2022, was a huge success! The sold-out event, which took place at the Grand Rapids Art Museum’s (GRAM) Cook Auditorium, launched the endowment of the AIA Grand Rapids Scholarship Fund.

The event was inspired by the  GRAM’s new The Jim Henson Muppets “Imagination Unlimited” exhibit, a dynamic, immersive museum experience featuring Henson’s groundbreaking work for film and television, and highlights from his impact on popular culture. The evening featured a cocktail reception and festive strolling dinner with themed food stations, a silent auction, and a ceremony introducing and honoring west Michigan architecture student scholarship recipients. All guests also received complimentary admission to the exhibit.  

Founders Sponsorship donors also were treated to a pre-event behind-the-scenes guided tour of the extensive construction currently ongoing at the GRAM. All sponsorship levels received event tickets, names and/or logos included on event signage and in MAF marketing materials, and recognition in event remarks (depending on sponsorship level). The 100+ event participants helped to raise more than $25,000 for architecture student scholarships, with the event exceeding its fundraising goal.

The silent table-top auction offered high-design office furniture, a Florida vacation condo, music, sporting event tickets, and other items for bid, contributing $3,500 to the evening’s fundraising success.

In keeping with the Muppets motif, signature cocktails were offered, including the Miss Piggy French Martini, Fozzie Bear Old Fashioned and Kermit the Frog Mojito (including a non-alcoholic option). Rare Jim Hensen Muppet puppets also adorned the tables, and Muppet show and other festive background music played.

Event host and committee chair Amy Scoby emceed the evening. AIA Grand Rapids 2022 President John Rizor, of Progressive AE, introduced the two 2022 recipients of the AIA Grand Rapids Scholarship, Sean Guirey and Hayden Prillwitz (both Sean and Hannah are past recipients of MAF architecture student scholarships; click on their names to read their profiles articles on the MAF website). Past AIA Grand Rapids scholarship winners were also recognized. Event committee member and MAF board member Bob Daverman announced winners of the event’s Silent Auction.

‘Imagine Tomorrow – a Toast to Our Future’ event committee members include Marie Arrington, Architectural Project Coordinator, TowerPinkster; Matt Christie, Senior Architect, Mathison Architects; Pam Danckaert, Executive Director, AIA Grand Rapids, Robert Daverman, President, Daverman Architecture; Anne Doornbos, Architect, TowerPinkster; Tom Mathison, Founding Principal, Mathison Architects; Steve Romkema, Design Team Leader, Fishbeck; architect Carl Roehling; and Amy Scoby, Senior VP, The Christman Company (event chair).

MAF and AIA Grand Rapids wish to thank “Imagine Tomorrow: A Toast to our Future” event sponsors and supporters:


  • Pure Architects
  • Testing Engineers & Consultants
  • The Christman Company


  • AMDG
  • Diekema Hamann
  • Fishbeck
  • HumanScale
  • Interphase Interiors (Hayworth)
  • Progressive AE
  • TowerPinkster
  • Trellis


  • C2AE
  • Construction Simplified
  • GMB Architecture + Engineering
  • Hooker DeJong
  • Mathison | Mathison Architects
  • Matrix Consulting Engineers
  • PCIA Insurance
  • Triangle Associates


  • 2021:  Megan Feenstra Wall, AIA
  • 2020: Matthew Christie, AIA
  • 2017:  Eric Biller, AIA
  • 2016:  Thomas Danckaert, AIA
  • 2015:  Daniel Tyrer, AIA
  • 2014:  Michael Belisle, AIA
  • 2013:  Brian Swem, AIA
  • 2010:  Glenn Rahn, AIA
  • 2007:  Nathan Gillette, AIA
  • 2005:  Mark Levine, FAIA
  • 2004:  Bob Daverman, AIA
  • 2003:  Fred Weslowski, AIA
  • 2001:  Mike Corby, FAIA
  • 2000:  Markku Allison, AIA
  • 1997:  Don Laughter, AIA
  • 1996:  Ralph Moxley, AIA
  • 1994:  Tom Dowling, RA
  • 1992:  Tom Mathison, FAIA
  • 1990:  Brian Craig, FAIA
  • 1988:  Wayne Norlin, AIA


*please click on the links for the complete list of board member names