Fund Your Future!
Apply Now for 2021 MAF Scholarships


Michigan Architectural Foundation is pleased to announce that applications are now being accepted for MAF’s 2021 Scholarships.

Ten scholarships, with a total of $25,000 in awards, are available for students enrolled in college or university architecture programs in the state of Michigan. All applicants must be residents of the state of Michigan. Click here to for more information on each of the scholarships.

The 2021 scholarships and their deadlines follow:

The Richard M. and Sidney K. Robinson Scholarship

Deadline:  February 7, 2021

The Richard M. and Sidney K. Robinson Scholarship is awarded to a University of Michigan Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning undergraduate architecture student who aspires to a career that combines the roles of citizen and artist. The scholarship is offered in cooperation with the Huron Valley Chapter of the American Institute of Architects.

Applicants for the Robinson Scholarship are limited to those students who are currently enrolled in the first year of the school’s architecture program, and intend to continue enrollment in the second year. 

Click here for MAF Robinson Scholarship requirements and to download the Robinson Scholarship application 


MAF Graduate Architecture Scholarships

Deadline: April 1, 2021

MAF offers nine scholarships for students who are currently pursuing a graduate professional degree in architecture, or have been admitted to an architectural graduate degree program at the following Michigan colleges and universities: University of Michigan, University of Detroit/Mercy, Lawrence Technological University, Kendall College of Art and Design, and Andrews University.  (click here for information on each of the scholarships)

The MAF Graduate Architecture Scholarships are:

  • AIA Michigan President’s Scholarship (read the article on the scholarship in this newsletter)
  • American Institute of Architects Scholarship
  • Katherine and John Banicki Scholarship
  • HED Alvin Ernest Harley AIAS Graduate Scholarship
  • Kenneth Neumann Design Scholarship
  • Professional Concepts Insurance Agency (PCIA) Scholarship
  • Paul Stachowiak/IDS Scholarship
  • Leslie Tincknell Scholarship
  • Daniel W. Toshach & AIA Saginaw Valley Chapter Scholarship

Click here for MAF Graduate Architecture Scholarship requirements and to download the Graduate Architecture Scholarship Application

All MAF 2021 scholarship awards will be announced in late April 2021. 

“MAF is committed to supporting the next generation of architectural talent,” said Tim Casai, FAIA, MAF scholarship juror and 2020/2021 MAF President. “We are proud to have assisted dozens of deserving architecture students as they pursued their educational goals, and invite current students to apply for one or more scholarships.”

Meet MAF’s 2020 scholarship winners.

Over the years, MAF scholarship awards have grown and been underwritten due to the generosity of MAF donors, and through the considerable time and efforts MAF board members dedicate to numerous fundraising activities to support the program, including MAF’s annual ‘Fore a Great Cause’ Golf Outing and Auction for Education events.

For more information on MAF’s Scholarship program, visit